A hearty time with thyme and artichoke heart soup

Hello People!

It’s dark and cold outside and it’s a perfect time for warm, cozy soups. And a warm soup I have for you! Some time ago I found a recipe, in the Swedish recipe magazine “buffé”, for thyme and artichoke heart soup and as it sounded utterly delightful I took a picture of the recipe and told myself I would try it soon. Soon turned out to be quite some time later, over a month. But soon came, and the soup was made. And the taste was yummy yummy in my tummy. But. I should have strained it, because there were weird small curved strips from the artichoke heart that felt like something in between fish bones and nail clippings ( i.e. artichoke bone clippings, yuck). So STRAIN it. It was fantastic and I would have devoured it, if it wasn’t for the weird weird weird bits that was everywhere in the soup. Let’s not let this information make us go, yuck, I will not ever make that soup, let’s take the lesson that is, strain it first.

Here we go, you need, according to the recipe, 1 can of artichoke hearts (390g), we had frozen ones that I slightly defrosted and chopped into smaller pieces. I’m gonna go ahead and blame the weird bits and the non-mention of sifting the soup on that the canned hearts probably lacks whatever it is that made the artichoke clippings. If you have canned ones, good for you, I’ll get back to them later.

First of, peel and chop 1 onion and gently fry it in 1 tbsp of butter for about 5 min without browning. Then, throw in, 3 garlic cloves that have been either diced or pressed, 1/2 tsp thyme. But I think the recipe was misread and 1 tsp of thyme went in, can’t be too sure. So, 1/2-1 tsp of thyme, ok? The roughly chopped artichoke hearts also wants to join the frying fun, that is, put them in along with the garlic and thyme. Let it fry while you peel and chop 3 potatoes and then, let them join the party. It’s also thyme (hihihihi 🙂 Sorry… but, you know, thyme sounds like time and it’s a thyme soup and it’s simply not possible not to giggle or at least smile slightly about it and now I’m rambling) for 1/2 liter of water and one vegetable stock cube. Turn it up to boil and let it simmer under a lid for 15min, or until the potatoes are soft. Add 1 1/2 dl cream and let it simmer for another 3 min. Add a pinch of salt and a pinch of pepper or to taste and blend until smooth.

Now, I say, sift it. Be safe, avoid artichoke clippings, sift and then reheat the soup in the pan if needed. Pour the soup into bowls and sprinkle chopped peeled roasted hazelnuts, if you have some. I didn’t, but I’m sure it’s lovely with some hazelnuts, so do it. And, lastly, devour. Eat the soup. Enjoy the soup. Because it is now thyme for some hearty soup. xD hehehehehe. Sorry. Couldn’t stop myself.

‘Til next time, enjoy a cozy, warming soup!

Post a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.