Coconut Chia Pudding

Hi there!

Me holding a chia sign and loving coconut
Yes, this is me, I don’t have a beard, I do have brown hair. And I have glasses, just not as lopsided. Anyways, this is me joining the chia craze, and as always I’m a big fan of coconut. Just to clarify, I am crazy about coconut and can’t draw one. Ta-daa!

OK, so I found out about chia pudding, and I thought that it sounded great, that was in march. I’ve held on to the thought that I should try it if only to see if I should join the chia hype. And so last week or so I did, it took me like half a year but I found this chia pudding recipe with coconut milk and just thought that it sounded too awesome to wait any longer. As I’m sure you have understood, I like coconut. No, I love it. I don’t remember my dreams, but I think it’s safe to say that I dream about coconut. Coconut. Coconut. COCONUT. There, I’ve ranted enough. Coconut! Okay, focus.

I’ve now done the chia pudding twice, and you get four portions each time that last about a week in the fridge. But I could eat this as pudding and not just lunch or breakfast on-the-go so it doesn’t last a week, it’s gone well before. It’s that good. It’s that coconutty. And so simple.

Here goes, open up a tin of coconut milk, store half of it away in the fridge for later use, and pour half into a bowl or a container or whatever you prefer. Then using the same tin, add half a tin of water. In goes 1/4 cup of oats, a tablespoon of desiccated coconut. According to the original recipe about 1-2 tbsp of honey but I just squirt a bit and leave it at that, why get a tablespoon sticky with honey when there’s no need to be super exact. Then, I have used seeds from half a vanilla pod, the original recipe warrants 1 tsp of vanilla extract but I don’t have that. Use what you got and want. Then blend until smooth, or smoother, or not as lumpy and the oats are no longer at the bottom of the bowl/container/whatever. Then in goes 1/4 cup of chia seeds, mix and leave for ten minutes then put it in the fridge overnight.

Okay, you’ve now, supposedly, got 4 servings of chia pudding, the exact size of which I’m dubious about, but it is surprising how filling a seemingly small portion is. I’ve served with fruit or a bit of jam or my now favorite cashews broken into pieces and dried apple cubes. I’m not the only fan by the way, my mom “steals” some as well, which speeds up the disappearance of the chia pudding. I say steal, but in reality she asks if it’s OK, I say “yes, of course” and then she takes some, but yeah its theft worthy. And even though I have zero problem with her taking some, and I see it as a good thing ’cause it means she likes it too, not just me, I will not rephrase.

This recipe is adapted from another blog, and is in origin a Berry Coconut Chia Pudding from Louise Digby Nutrition. I’m sure it’s nice as is, but it calls for a handful of berries and I took it to mean fresh berries. I didn’t have any that I felt would be nice in a chia pudding and my aunts recipe for chia pudding called for a tablespoon of coconut, and I like coconut, so…

‘Til next time, make some theft worthy on-the-go meal

 

Post a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.